salt roasted crunchy chickpeas auckland new zealand

Salt Roasted Chickpeas

As a person that usually feels hungry, I tend to snack a lot. Biscuits and crackers used to be my go-to snack items. However, most of the biscuits and crackers I purchased tend to be made from white flour and can, therefore, be considered as refined carbohydrates. I always had them in my bag for the purpose of satisfying my hunger. But what if, in actuality, my go-to snacks were to blame?

The solution was to switch from refined , simple carbohydrates to natural, complex carbohydrates. A list of complex carbohydrates, as well as other essential food groups, can be found here. I had to find ways to prepare grains, oats or beans into snack form.

Following Niomi Smart and Poppy Deyes on their blogs and social media proved to be advantageous in my search for plant-based snack ideas. Because of them, I found out that you can roast chickpeas. Poppy’s version is for those who are looking for a sweet snack whilst Niomi’s version is spicy.

I prepared my roasted chickpeas based on Niomi’s version. As mentioned in my previous post I’m not too keen on anything spicy which is why I decided to just season mine with salt and pepper. Sounds very standard but they’re very tasty.

 

Salt Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 1 can of Chickpeas
  • 1 tbsp of Coconut Oil
  • Salt
  • Black Pepper

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C.
  2. Drain the liquid from the can of chickpeas. To absorb the excess liquid, I put the chickpeas on paper towels.
  3. Add the chickpeas onto the baking tray and season them with salt and pepper.
  4. Bake for 40 minutes. It’s best to check on them every ten minutes to make sure they aren’t burnt.

 

 

Keep them in an air-tight container so the chickpeas stay crunchy.

 

Leave a Reply

