kale mushroom garlic durum wheat penne pasta auckland new zealand

Kale and Mushroom Penne

I found kale, white button mushrooms and durum wheat penne whilst I was rummaging through my fridge and my pantry. A pasta dish seemed to be a good way to incorporate those ingredients and provide me with a seamless shift to a more plant-based diet. There are already a number of existing meatless pasta dishes out there already. Some examples are Alfredo, Pomodoro, Arrabiata and Fagioli.

I had the main ingredients but I needed an idea for the sauce. I didn’t have any tomatoes with me, so I wasn’t going to make a tomato-based sauce. The decision was down to either a cream-based or oil-based sauce. I was unsure how kale would taste in a cream-based sauce so I decided to look for existing kale pasta recipes. I found the Garlicky Mushroom and Kale with Linguine by Julie from The Simple Veganista and I have her to thank for my first plant-based meal.

Since I spontaneously searched for this recipe right before cooking, I didn’t have the exact ingredients on hand. I made a few adjustments and simplified the recipe to my needs. I needed enough to eat for dinner that night and to take with me for lunch the next day.

 

Kale and Mushroom Penne

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients for Kale and Mushroom Penne

 

Ingredients

  • 250g durum wheat penne pasta
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 3 large white button mushrooms
  • 2 kale leaves
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1 vegetable broth cube
  • salt
  • black pepper

 

Procedure

  1. Cook the pasta
  2. Using the medium heat settings on the stove, saute the chopped onions in olive oil for four minutes (I had olive oil spread instead of liquid olive oil, so I melted two tablespoons in the microwave for 30 seconds)
  3. Add mushrooms, garlic, thyme to the onions. Season with salt and pepper to your preference. Do this for five minutes before adding the kale.
  4. To liquefy the vegetable broth cube, add it to a cup of boiled water. You can use half of the cube if you prefer.
  5. Add the cooked pasta and vegetable broth to the mushroom and kale mixture. The dish is ready when the broth dissolves.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kale and Mushroom Penne

 

Leave a Reply

