close up travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

Spring // Cherry Blossoms in Cornwall Park

The past week there’s been a bit of a cold bug going around the city. One of my flatmates and even half of the people at work were ill. I was working two weeks straight without any days off and because I was tired, I was prone to catching the bug as well. So the beginning of last week, I got hit by a horrible cold and I was unable to breathe normally for two days. I knew that later in the week I had to work late nights and I needed to find a way to stop the cold before it takes hold.

After I had my cold for two days it progressed into a cough for around four days. I was drinking Healtheries Boost Immunity effervescent tablets in the mornings. I already drink multivitamins but the extra Vitamin C, Zinc and Echinacea were what my body needed to help me get through those long days. I was also drinking Bell Zesty lemon and ginger green tea whenever I could. Not only was I more alert, but the spicy-sourness soothed my throat. Today, I can finally breathe properly and I’m no longer pestered by a dry cough.

Aside from all the fluids I’ve been taking, I went out for a few hours during my free days. When you feel really ill, it’s hard not to leave your room and be sat in bed all day. I had things I needed to get done so I went out despite being sick. I tried to be productive, get some fresh air and carry on with my day. The important thing is to know your limits, prioritise and accomplish what needs to be done and don’t do too much that you stress yourself. If you feel so bad that you can’t go out, just open a window because every bit of fresh air does more for you than you may think.

Last week, I had to go to East Tamaki in South Auckland. It’s quite the trip for me, living in Central Auckland. Other than that, during the day, people take all the parking along the street where I live. It’s because there are some small offices around that area whilst other people like to park there for free and take a bus to the CBD where parking costs a fortune. What I had to do down south would take me an hour– tops– and I had to go to places that were nearby or on the way home to pass the time. I grabbed some lunch at Botany Town Centre as it was ten minutes away from where I was. I tried the veggie burger from Opporto at the food court, and it was alright. I also browsed some of the shops but I didn’t have the energy to explore the entire shopping complex (which is huge, by the way) since that would have added to the stress I already had from being sick.

It’s Spring here in New Zealand so I decided to check out the cherry blossom trees in Cornwall Park in Greenlane. I had checked the weather forecast the day before and I knew that it was going to be a beautiful sunny day with a light breeze here and there. I had a leisurely stroll around the cherry blossom area and took some photographs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

landscape travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I haven’t been to Japan during Spring, and I don’t think you can compare the cherry blossoms in New Zealand to the Hanami festival in Japan. The cherry blossom species that grow here would be different and the climate is different here as well. Spring here is warmer and you won’t see the other people dressed in layers. When it’s windy you’ll still see the petals from the flowers blown away but I imagine it isn’t as dramatic as Sakurafubuki at the Hanami festival. If you come to the park without any of those expectations, you’ll be in awe like I was.

landscape travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

landscape travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

close up travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

close up travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

landscape travel cherry blossom trees sakura pink one tree hill corn wall park auckland new zealand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you have more time, here are other things you can do at Cornwall Park:

  • Check out the sheep and cows grazing in the paddock areas
  • Go up One Tree Hill, a volcanic peak where you can see views of the city and see the obelisk up close
  • Eat at Cornwall Park Bistro and Cafe
  • See the other plants and trees in the park (such as kauri trees). It’s beautiful during Autumn as well.
  • Jog or cycle around the park
  • Have a picnic or barbeque
  • Enjoy the amenities for sports like archery, rugby, cricket, tennis and bowling

How to get to Cornwall Park if you don’t have your own transport

Train: At Britomart or Newmarket Train Stations, take the Onehunga line and get off at the Greenlane Train Station. From there, walk along Greenlane West for 1.6 km and you’ll see the entrance to Cornwall Park at Pohutukawa Drive. Keep walking along Pohutukawa Drive and you’ll see the cherry blossom trees.

Bus: At Britomart Transport Centre, make your way to the bus stop on the Customs Street East side. Take either of these buses: 500 (Mission Heights), 502 (Mt Wellington), 512 (Mt Wellington) or 550 (Cockle Bay) and get off at the stop at Great South Road and Matai. From there, walk towards Ataraingi Road. Keep walking along Ataraingi Road and you’ll reach the entrance to Cornwall Park. The cherry blossom trees will be along Pohutukawa Drive.

Leave a Reply

